Climate Leadership Conference

The Climate Leadership Conference, being held on March 15 - 16 2018, at Dockside Convention Centre in Sydney, will bring together over 250 climate, energy, and sustainability professionals from federal, state and local government, industry, associations, research and non-government organisations to address climate change through policy, innovation, and business solutions, with a strong focus on best-practice case studies from Australia and around the world.

The Conference will feature:

  • Top case studies about driving business and economic opportunity through climate leadership;

  • Driving innovation and building climate action partnerships;

  • Strategies for achieving zero emissions;

  • Factoring climate change into planning and infrastructure decisions;

  • Management of climate risk;

  • Financing the low-carbon future;

  • Carbon mitigation technology and innovation;

  • Cultivating a climate culture and communicating solutions to stakeholders;

  • Building sustainable supply chains;

  • Benefits of carbon neutral commitments for industry and government;

  • Building local resilience to climate change impacts.

Speakers include:

  • Dr Melanie Kaebernick - Director, Carbon Neutral Program and National Carbon Offset Standard, Domestic Emissions Reduction Division, Australian Government Department of the Environment and Energy

  • Dr Julia Grant - Executive Director, Climate Change, SA Department of Environment, Water and Natural Resources

  • Tony Roberts - Deputy Director-General, Queensland Department of Environment and Heritage Protection

  • Stan Krpan - CEO, Sustainability Victoria

  • Dr Stephen Bygrave - Executive Director, Climate Change and Sustainability, ACT Government

  • Suzanne Dunford - Strategic Delivery Manager, Climate Change Adaptation, NSW Office of Environment and Heritage

  • Dr John Hewson - Professor and Chair in the Tax and Transfer Policy Institute at Crawford School of Public Policy, The Australian National University; Chairman, Asset Owners Disclosure Project

  • Andrew Petersen - CEO, Sustainable Business Australia

  • The Hon Clover Moore - Lord Mayor, City of Sydney

  • Dominique La Fontaine - Executive Director, South East Councils Climate Change Alliance

  • Professor Deo Prasad - CEO, Low Carbon Living CRC

  • Professor Jean Palutikof - Director, National Climate Change Adaptation Facility

  • Dr Andrew Pitman - Director, ARC Centre of Excellence for Climate System Science

  • Simon Ray - Head of Energy, National Carbon Bank of Australia

  • Amanda McKenzie - CEO, Climate Council

  • Michelle English - Associate Director, Sustainability, City of Adelaide

  • Nik Midlam - Manager, Climate Strategy, City of Sydney

  • Vanessa Petrie - CEO, Beyond Zero Emissions

Speaking, Sponsorship and Exhibition opportunities are available - please contact Emma Stirling on if you would like to be involved in the Conference.

Ultra Early Bird registrations are now open for the Conference - to register for the Conference, please go to


Subscribe to The Environment Report