New appointees to Sustainability Victoria board

A new Deputy Chairperson and four new members have been appointed to the Sustainability Victoria board.

Kane Thornton will serve as the board’s Deputy Chairperson for the next two years. Mr Thornton has extensive experience in the renewable energy sector, and is currently Chief Executive of the Clean Energy Council, the peak body for the renewable energy and energy efficiency industry in Australia.

New members on the board include Peter Castellas, chief executive officer of the Carbon Market Institute; Sarah Clarke, Judith Harris and Kerry Osborne, each of whom will serve for the next five years.

The members bring expertise and experience in energy and climate change, community engagement, change management, education, local government, regional affairs and knowledge of the waste industry and waste management at local government level.

The new members were appointed after an open expression of interest process.

Sustainability Victoria aims to promote better resource management and facilitate practical action on climate change at community level.

Last year Sustainability Victoria launched its SV2020 strategic plan – a five-year vision to help communities develop practical, local action on climate change, resource efficiency and waste.

Subscribe to The Environment Report